Confessions of a (chronic pain) graduate student

I’ve pretended to get real caffeinated coffee at school or at conventions and the like… because in graduate school if you’re not so exhausted that you’re surviving on caffeine, you’re apparently doing it wrong. But as I can’t mix heart conditions, meds, and caffeine safely … I order the kid’s apple cider, or drink straight hot water instead of black tea, or down all the milk and cream when no one is paying attention, instead. 🙂

My friends and colleagues know that I can’t really have alcohol or caffeine, but when I want to pretend at being “grownup” they’re right there with decaf and mocktails, and they play along with the charade in those difficult social situations where drinking caffeine or alcohol is nearly a given.

I’m so blessed.

Leave a Reply

