Pieris rapae

 

dsc_0213

Or your good ol’ cabbage white. πŸ™‚ It is one of the first butterflies I snap in spring and one of the last in fall, so hardy it can survive a couple of cold nights, so bright among the greens, browns, golds, and reds of our late fall that it pops out nicely.

dsc_0202

These were taken in a friend’s garden one windy afternoon. If I wasn’t being blown sideways, the butterflies or the plants were. Bad aperture control and focus on my part did the rest!

It was a good day to experiment, and as I’m still learning this art, I need a lot of “experiment” days. πŸ™‚ The weather’s supposed to be nice for the next several days, with winds only in the 10-20 mph range. Wish me luck and send me tips. πŸ˜€

 

Leave a Reply

