Adaptations II

dsc_0180

I’m just a bit of bark. Nothing to see here, folks.

Adaptations. Butterflies adapt. Moths change color to match that of the bark. It means… survival. Survival isn’t always glamorous. But it IS life. That’s important. A few of my favorite adaptations…

Yogurt (especially Greek Gods Honey) is a gift from the gods. I’d like to think this IS an adaptation… but yogurt is so fast and portable that it’s pretty much been part of my life since I started college. I used to eat a lot more adventurous stuff besides yogurt of course, but hey, now I’m exploring all the flavors that are in that section of the store. And thankfully, there’s a lot.

Social events are really “optional.” And when I plan an event, it’s on a different timetable now, an adapted timetable that revolves around naps and medications and times when I can have a backup ride or a place to stay if everything goes wrong.

Hot tubs and heating pads are the best. No argument. And no, sadly, a friend’s extra large washing machine should not double as a hot tub. Even if the jets and whirlpool features are top-of-the-line. 🙂

Tablets with ebooks, .pdf articles and/or homework assignments Are. Marvelous. Period.  Fast, portable, lightweight, permissible in a lot of environments (like hospitals), and easier to manage when I can’t move my arms that much or handle turning pages.

Tear-free shampoo. I’m not the most coordinated individual. I always get shampoo in my eyes. Now though, I am sometimes too weak to take a shower without sitting down abruptly in the middle of it, or I’m too dizzy to avoid sliming the stuff all over my face, or I need someone else’s help to wash my pixie. Welcome to the baby shampoo aisle, where there are a million different scents, many of which are nice on skin reacting to meds, are soothing for nerves frayed by doctor’s visits, and are advertised as helping even the most stubborn of babies go down for a nightly … well, let’s face it, nap. But maybe a longer one. 😀

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

