Elimination Diet Blueberry Muffin Boulders

dsc_0011.jpg

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups gluten-free flour (I used King Arthur 1-1).
  • about 1/4 cup gluten free rolled oats (optional, and probably best to skip, although I didn’t taste them at all)
  • 12 packets of stevia + 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon (or more!)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 1/2 cups “milk” (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries (I used frozen, and I think fresh might work better, besides probably tasting better)

Instructions:

  • preheat oven to 375 (I’d really do 400 next time, particularly if you trust your oven. Which I do not.)
  • combine dry ingredients and mix well
  • make a well and add in liquid ingredients, stirring until incorporated
  • add blueberries
  • spoon generously into muffin tins well lined with paper (and consider spraying with oil as well, if you want to eat them the second day without paper – these stick more than the norm)
  • bake for 25-30 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out acceptably clean. 😉

 

Periodically, you just get the overwhelming desire to be… normal. All right, I wrote it. The dreaded N word. The academic in me cheerfully (and unhelpfully) says “unpack that!” The practical and nearly tour-guide side reminds me that whatever normal is, I’m not likely to be it, now or in the future, so move on past this display, please. The financial side of me says “but you can’t afford to be normal!” My mouth, though, simply demands blueberry muffins.

Making blueberry muffins seemed like an easier thing to address than most of the rest of the above, even with IFM diet requirements, so I tackled that one first.

There are plenty of recipes out there for gluten free muffins. There are some for dairy-free. There’s a couple that are sugarless. In the end, the one I decided to try was a variant of a recipe I found here: http://thebigmansworld.com/2017/03/12/fat-free-flourless-blueberry-muffins-sugar-free-vegan-gluten-free/. But instead of using ground oats flour, I’d be using a 1-1 King Arthur flour, which had been great before for breading chicken and thickening sauces. I also had to change out the processed granulated sugar for another sweetener, and decided to use some stevia packets. I checked out conversion tables and tried to calculate and then ended up doing a mix of 12 packets of stevia and a 1/4 cup maple syrup. That last was because, as the stevia drifted up in clouds of fine dust, I discovered I actually don’t like the taste of stevia. Not in my mouth, not in my nose, not in muffins, nor on my clothes! I had a few oats in the bottom of the canister and thought that might be nice in the texture, since these things looked more like cupcakes than muffins to me. Not to mention, it might just get me enough counter space to finish the muffins, so in a handful of rolled gluten-free oats went. Finally, I thought that my oven was perhaps a little variable and I should try cooking at 375 instead of the recommended 400.

Dough prepared, added frozen blueberries, sampled again. Pretty tasty, although the stevia was an oddly bitter/sweet note. Ok. Time to spoon the mix into the muffin tins. I had way more dough than my 12 muffin tins could hold. Probably enough for 18, especially if I hadn’t sampled. I loaded the containers and told myself if my energy allowed, I’d make another batch as soon as these came out! Yes!

I put them in. I cooked for 20 and checked. The dough stuck so firmly to the bamboo skewer that it pulled the muffin, little paper cup and all, half out of the tin. I abandoned before the oven heat overcame me (hot ovens yes, but through those together with a slightly wonky body that can respond awkwardly to heat, plus bending over, and it suddenly became more chancy than I wanted). I tried again at 25… then at 30… then at 35, at which point (I think), I decided that enough was enough and they were done. Fortunately, they really were.

Unfortunately, the longer, slower cook time, different sugar, and oats meant that mine were in no way, under no light, fluffy yellow mounds dotted becomingly with berries. Was it the oats? The lack of sugar? A different flour? The frozen berries? You got me. The outside was fairly… firm. The inside, however, was great, especially slathered with melted “butter” – or  Earth Balance’s buttery-ish vegan spread. It’s not exactly a win. Still, to tell the truth, these things turned out better than the last batch of muffins I attempted. That’s not saying all that much, though, since the apple-pecan muffins with streusel topping had about the density of dwarf stars.

They don’t keep that well, which in my kitchen means that the muffins had, through some sort of instant petrification process scientists can only guess at, turned completely into small boulders by the afternoon of day 2. Or at least that was the fate of those I hadn’t pawned off on friends, in an attempt to get rid of them and gain some sort of insight into why mine weren’t perfectly uniform sunshine with freckles of blueberry. (This beguiling whisper of “try some” is in fact the battle cry of all amateur cooks, I’m now convinced). I didn’t have it in me to make the rest of the dough that night, or even the next morning. In the end I had a few spoonfuls (having helpfully left myself the spoon in the bowl) and ended up tossing the bit that was left over. I’m sorry, but I honestly can’t tell you that if you refrigerate this dough and make it in the morning (when the urge for hot fresh muffins is usually the strongest, seconded only by every other minute of the day), it will work. Or if it does in fact make 18 muffins, which would be my guess, provided you wouldn’t rather have it raw for breakfast.

And they did -temporarily at least! – satisfy my craving for blueberry muffins. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

